Photo Credit — AleXander Hirka / Used with permission

The Fire Next Door

When working from home becomes tricky

3 min readNov 19, 2021

--

For someone born just past the middle bit of the last century, I find myself managing this 21st-century work world with a certain amount of confidence that’s mostly bravado (just between us). So after a short lull while one of the bosses was traveling I wasn’t surprised by the sudden flurry of emails that hit my account late this afternoon. I wasn’t necessarily ready, but I wasn’t surprised.

What did surprise me was discovering that the building next door was on fire!

I was trying to concentrate and there was all this smashing of glass going on out back. WTF? I finally leaned out the window to see who was breaking what and noticed that heavy black smoke was pouring out of the windows of our neighboring building. There were firemen down on the ground floor destroying a lot of windows by the sounds of things and several more up on the fire escapes.

Within minutes enormous flames were blasting out of lower story windows reminding us mere mortals that fire is powerful and unpredictable. And in charge.

My partner, AleXander, sprang into action. He grabbed the cat carrier and told me to get the passports. Did I have a portable hard drive? Where was it? Get that. Get anything you think you’ll need if we have to evacuate. Do it now! The cat found this all…

--

--